top of page
Search

For I know the plans I have for you: A personal testimony of God's faithfulness



In context, this verse served as an encouragement for the Jews in exile, and should be a great encouragement for Christians today. God is not fickle, and He keeps His promises! Because the Father kept His promises to use the Jewish people in His plans, the whole world has access to salvation through Jesus Christ.


The Book of Jeremiah is one of three books of prophecy called the Major Prophets. Its name comes from its author, who wrote during the last days before the exile to Babylon. Jeremiah, known as the weeping prophet, wrote most of the text during the exile of the Israelites.




For I know the plans I have for you…



Not only did Solomon allow his various wives from many other lands to worship and set up altars to their own gods, but his descendants would engage in idol worship for years before God cut them off from the land through conquest and exile. Yet, as He states in Jeremiah 29:11, He already had plans to restore them to a right relationship with Him.


This verse promises restoration and redemption for a people in exile that would lead to the salvation of mankind. It is full of hope and assurance. However, it is not always used to convey that message. It can sometimes be used, when taken out of context, to mean that Christians today have guarantees of blessings and prosperity. It can also be used to give a false sense of purpose, chasing after material blessings in a worldly fashion, rather than seeking after God. This verse only guarantees the exiled Israelites that they had not been forgotten by their Lord, not that He guarantees material gain for people who believe in Him.


Bethany Verrett is a freelance writer who uses her passion for God, reading, and writing to glorify God. She and her husband have lived all over the country serving their Lord and Savior in ministry. She has a blog on graceandgrowing.com.


For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart (Jeremiah 29:11-13 ESV).


I know the plans I have for you, to prosper you and not harm you, to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11. This verse is a favorite to give to graduates, but it's so reassuring and encouraging for everyone. Here we have printed this modern version of the verse on frosted glass sea stones and attached them to magnets. The dimensions are about 1.25 inches in diameter. There are lots of colors. The stones are 100% recycled content. There is a minimum order quantity of 6 magnets.


In order to give you the best experience, we use cookies and similar technologies for performance, analytics, personalization, advertising, and to help our site function. Want to know more? Read our Cookie Policy. You can change your preferences any time in your Privacy Settings.


Taken from Jeremiah 29:11, "For I know the plans for you declares the Lord...", this beautifully made wood sign (12" x 18") is sure to be an encouragement for that special someone (or yourself)! We can also personalize it with a name below the verse. Designed and handmade by Heartwood Gifts from 3/4" wood, each board is hand cut, laser engraved, hand painted, and then finished with a light to moderate distressing. The finished piece will also feature our signature hand-sanded exposed wood edges, which frames in the caption, and gives the sign an overall shabby chic farmhouse appeal. Your sign is thick enough to stand on a mantle, window ledge, or if you prefer, use the sawtooth clip included on the back to hang in that special place on the wall and enjoy.


Keep in mind this new tool is still being tested but should still allow you to create and purchase designs. We're trying to improve your custom design experience and hope you will like it. Please let us know if you run into any problems. Thanks!


As the eLearning Center Director for Laredo College and a Doctoral Student at Regent University, I have always been an advocate of distance education. Little did I know how important the work I have been doing and studying for years would become. Even though I know distance education well, I could not help but feel a little panicked when I was told we needed to convert all our face-to-face courses online in a matter of one week. Training faculty who had never taught online, uploading content to our learning management system, and finding ways to support students who had never taken an online class, this was a lot to process. Oh, wait: and do all of this from home! My 40-hour weeks quickly turned into 60, 70, 80-hour weeks. The difficulty of separating myself from work, school, and home life has been the biggest challenge.


Then, one Friday morning, I met with my team via Zoom, like we have been doing ever since we started working remotely. Coming together as a team at the end of each week helps us stay connected. It is also a great way to support each other. During these meetings, I do everything I can to encourage them and to make sure they know how much the College appreciates the work they are doing. As their leader, I have to be strong for them. It was during one of these meetings that I was reminded that I am more capable than I give myself credit. During these last couple of months, I had already overcome several obstacles, some of which had already made me stronger and more capable than I ever thought possible. I continuously remind folks around me to work hard and continue pushing forward. What kind of message would I be sending to those around me if I decided to quit school? I could not quit. I have never contemplated quitting anything. It is these challenges that help build our character, that make us stronger, that help us learn lessons that define who we are.


So, I keep moving forward. I work hard during the day, and for a couple of hours every other evening, I continue to work on my dissertation. I have tried to find a balance so that I do not feel overwhelmed because truth be told, I still have a lot of people depending on me.


I hope that one day when the pandemic is over, and I have successfully defended my dissertation, I can look back and remember that the challenges I faced have not only made me stronger but have made me an even bigger advocate for online education. More importantly, I hope that I remember that I was able to accomplish all this with an outstanding group of people alongside me and with our entire college community, remembering that Laredo College got through this because we are Laredo Strong, we are Laredo College Strong.


You are not rejected. You are not denied. You are not unacceptable. Your have not sinned so much that God will not come to you again. He is your Father and He wants to bring you into His arms and to wrap your life up in the light of His grace and His love!


Jesus knows who we are and where we are going. This special I Know the Plans I Have for You vertical Bar necklace was inspired by the popular bible verse Jeremiah 29:11. Each one is expertly engraved in either black or white. Choose from two fashionable necklaces choices: silver or gold. A matching chain is included with each necklace. Because this necklace reminds us of the good future the Lord has prepared for us, it makes an especially great gift for youth and young adults about the start...


A fashionable gift for Christian women this I Know the Plans I Have For You Horizontal Bar Bracelet demonstrates the Lord's future for us. He has a plan that we can have faith and trust in. It is available in silver, gold, and rose gold. This bracelet is 1.5 inches long, you can also add your own custom message on the back for an additional small fee. This could be another favorite scripture or a short personal message. Ring boxes and gift wrapping are also available. ...


Jesus knows who we are and where we are going. This special I Know the Plans I Have for You Horizontal Bar necklace was inspired by the popular bible verse Jeremiah 29:11. Each one is expertly engraved in either black or white. Choose from three fashionable necklace colors: silver, gold, or rose gold. A matching chain is included with each necklace. Because this necklace reminds us of the good future the Lord has prepared for us, it makes an especially great gift for youth and...


Sometimes instead of changing our circumstances, God changes our hearts. When have you experienced that kind of his work in your life? Thank him for it. Please feel free to share your responses in our comments section below.


By submitting your email address, you understand that you will receive email communications from HarperCollins Christian Publishing (501 Nelson Place, Nashville, TN 37214 USA) providing information about products and services of HCCP and its affiliates. You may unsubscribe from these email communications at any time. If you have any questions, please review our Privacy Policy or email us at yourprivacy@harpercollins.com.


This item has sold out and is no longer available. Would you like us to notify you if it returns to our collections?: This item has sold out and is no longer available. Enter your email address to have us notify you if it returns to our collections.


Hi Deborah, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We're delighted to know that you were pleased with the Jeremiah 29:11 journal that you included with your grandson's college graduation gift. That particular scripture verse is so appropriate for the transition that he is currently making. Such an exciting time in life, but also one that can feel uncertain and a wee bit scary at times. Praying that he finds joy in the journey! We're grateful that you've chosen to shop with us for this special gift and would love to see you back again. May God bless you & yours and keep you safe in His care. Kind Regards, Deborah & Rhett 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page